Blog #1: Introduction

Hello guys! Welcome to my first blog, first blog post, and first initiative to share my knowledge, thoughts and ideas!
I hope you all have a great experience spending your very precious time reading what I have to say. I promise I will try my best to make everything interesting and, of course, as fun as possible! I believe this is an incredible chance of developing critical thinking, absorbing Marketing vision, and growing as a professional. If you share the same thoughts, this is the right place for you!

Well, my name is Gabriel, but if you prefer, you can call me, ahn, Gabriel. Sorry, I do not have a nickname. I am from Brazil, “that very beautiful country,” “the country of soccer,” “the country of beautiful women.” How do you know that? Did you ever travel to Brazil? Probably not. Welcome, baby! This is Marketing!

Let’s keep going. I was born in Rio de Janeiro and I lived there until Mar/14. Since then, after being selected in a Government scholarship program, I have been studying in Saint Michael’s College, VT, USA. My mother always wanted me to be a military officer or mechanical engineer, but my major is Information Systems, and deep inside I love Business and Marketing. Crazy? Maybe. But I promise you that everything is connected. I am currently having the opportunity of introducing myself in the Business field. By the end of my scholarship, I will have completed all the requirements of a minor in Business. Yes, I am not a crazy programmer.

Saint Michael's College - Dion Family Student Center - Photo by: Gabriel Ventura

Saint Michael’s College – Dion Family Student Center – Photo by: Gabriel Ventura

In 2012, me and two more friends created an event promotion website. This was my first experience with Marketing. Convincing people that it was worthy to follow our website was certainly a big challenge. Besides this, promoting events successfully by advertisings and social media were also part of our tasks. In 2013, I got an internship in a multinational beverage company, and currently the biggest company of Brazil. In this company, Marketing was present everywhere: packages, advertisings, commercials, price, contracts, and much much more. This close contact made me understand and become fascinated about how powerful and important Marketing could be.

Now that you all know me a little bit more, it is time to start the blog itself.

The name of this blog was chosen based on two reasons: my scholarship and the world we live. First, this program of which I am part of is called “Science Without Borders.” In short, its intention is to send Brazilian students to other countries to improve their knowledge, so they would become better professionals in the future. Second, in the era of globalization, world interaction, and communication, everything is scattered worldwide, including Marketing. Brands are all over the world, anyone can watch your video and see your advertisings online, or you can become famous tomorrow with something viral. This is the era of promoting, and there is nothing better for promotion than Marketing tools. Marketing Without Borders represents not only the greatness of Marketing in our lives, but the huge proportion that Marketing strategies can achieve, and the lack of limit of places that could be reached.

This blog is a project of my BU-215 Marketing course. This, however, does not mean that I will not take this opportunity to have something professional. As you can see, this is going to be a Marketing based blog, but expect to find here more than that. I will always try to connect concepts from different areas and real life.

As a new student in the area and a lover of new knowledge, I surely appreciate any kind of feedback, perceptions, opinions and enriching debates. Feel free to participate!

See you in the next post!

Standard

One thought on “Blog #1: Introduction

  1. Sergio Oliveira says:

    Very nice initiative, Gabriel! Your first post was a really good start point and got me excited to come and check out the next one. Hope you keep sharing your thoughts about Marketing even after you finish the course.

    Sergio

    Like

Leave a comment